Photos: The 7 Legends Named as #AFCON2019 Ambassadors

Flash cabs web banner


Ahead of the Continental showpiece slated for Friday, 21st June,the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has named 7 ambassadors for it’s upcoming tournament.

Samuel Eto’o

Cameroonian international Samuel Eto’o Photo/File

Samuel Eto’o is widely regarded as one of the greatest players in the history of African players.

He is a four-time CAF Player of the Year (2003,2004,2005 & 2010), and also won the Africa Cup of Nations with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002.
Eto’o is also the leading scorer in the tournament,having scored 18 goals

Didier Drogba

Drogba, when he led his national team in ending civil war in Ivory coast.Photo/File

Regarded as one of the most lethal forwards of his generation,Drogba has taken part in the continental showpiece five times (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013). While he has never won it, the Ivorian international has been named CAF player of the Year two times. He is the leading scorer ‘The Elephants’ national team with 65 goals.

Mahmoud El khatib

‘Bibo’ with his National team. Photo/File

Currently the president of African giants Al Ahly, Mahmoud El Khatib famously nicknamed Bibo is ranked among the best African players of all time He won the African Cup of Nations with Egypt in 1986. He managed to lift 10 Egyptian Premier League trophies with the Red Devils as well as two Egypt Cups and two CAF Champions League.

Individually, he was named African Player of the Year in 1983

Yaya Toure

Yaya Toure with the Ivory Coast national team.Photo/Courtesy.

The Ivorian legend sealed the cracks and enforced the playing style at the midfield.He has been ranked among the best not only in Africa but the whole world. Notably, he was crowned as CAF player of the year four times in a row i.e (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) And ultimately guiding Cote d’ Ivoire to the AFCON 2015.

Rabah Madjer

A superb footballer of all time who was part of the Algerian squad that won AFCON tittle 1990 on home soil.He is famous for winning the African Ballon d’Or in 1987.

El Hadji Diouf

Senegalese international El Hadji Diouf.Photo/Courtesy

He remains the only Senegalese to have been crowned CAF player of the year decorated in 2001 and 2002.He was also a key member to the Teranga Lions golden generation that made headlines across the world in the early 2000’s.

Nwankwo Kanu

Nigerian international Kanu,famously nicknamed ‘Papilo’.PhotCourtesy

Famously known as Papilo,the Nigerian international has been named twice as CAF player of the year in 1996 and 1999. He has also taken part in six editions of the tournament.

(Be your brother’s keeper during this fight against Covid-19 by wearing a MASK and keeping social distancing. Email us news tips to or WHATSAPP us to +254711611347


Paul Ombati is a journalist, news editor, creative, and passionate content writer. He is also a digital marketing strategist with special interest in influencing, Search Engine Optimization (SEO), and Search Engine Marketing (SEM). To reach out to him, Email: Follow him on Facebook , Instagram, LinkedIn, and Twitter using the icons below.

%d bloggers like this: